Go to content

Main menu:


District History


The present-day Chittoor district was constituted on April 1, 1911. It was formed by combining the erstwhile Chittoor, Palamaner and Chandragiri taluks of the North Arcot district of Tamil Nadu, Madanapalle and Voyalpadu taluks of the Kadapa district, and ex-Zamindari areas of Punganur, Srikalahasthi, Puttur and Old Karvetinagar Estate. By December 1, 1928, the Kangundhi taluk of the North Arcot district, with the exception of 22 villages, was also transferred to the Palamaner taluk, while in 1950, under the Province and States (Absorption of Enclaves) Order, eight more villages of the erstwhile Mysore State were transferred to the Palamaner taluk.

The Pataskar Award introduced the next major change in the jurisdiction of the district effective April 1, 1960. As part of the re-organization of States on linguistic lines, a major portion of Thiruthani taluk was transferred to the Chengalpattu district of Tamil Nadu. Instead, a taluk known as Sathyavedu, comprising 76 villages of Tiruvallur taluk, 72 villages of Ponneri taluk (both of Chengalpattu district) and 17 villages of Puttur taluk as well as 19 villages of Thiruthani taluk, was constituted and added to the Chittoor district.

Simultaneously, the sub-taluk of Kuppam and Bangarupalem were also constituted. In all, 220 villages from the Palamaner taluk and three villages from the Krishnagiri taluk of the Salem district in Tamil Nadu were transferred to form the Kuppam sub-taluk, while 145 villages from the Chittoor taluk were transferred to constitute the Bangarupalem sub-taluk. Subsequently, Kuppam and Bangarupalem were made full-fledged taluks.

The above 11 taluks of the district were reorganized into 15 taluks and 20 panchayat samithis. The taluks were re-organized into 66 revenue mandals in line with a GO issued on May 22, 1985. Later, 65 mandal praja parishads were formed.

As of now, the district has three revenue divisions: Chittoor, Tirupati and Madanapalle. The total number of villages in the district is 1,540, of which 1,425 have gram panchayats.

In all, 1,500 villages are inhabited and 40 are uninhabited. The revenue villages in the district total 1,518. A unique feature of the district is that it has three autonomous panchayats: two in Madanapalle and one in Tirupati. The autonomous panchayats are Horsley Hills and Arogyavaram in Madanapalle division and Tirumala in Tirupati division. The total number of habitations is 4,388 as per the 2001 census.



Back to content | Back to main menu