District Profile

Chittoor district is constituted on 1st April,1911 and major change in jurisdiction of the district took place on 1st April 1960 as a result of Pataskar Award. Chittoor district is situated between 12-37 ” to 14-8 ” of Northern latitude and 78 –33” to 79-55” of Eastern longitude.The district is divided into three revenue divisions i.e. Chittoor, Madanapalle, and Tirupati with 20 Erstwhile blocks or 66 mandals covering 1540 Revenue villages in 1394 Gram panchayats.Chittoor District is named after its major town Chittoor. On the east of this district is Nellore and Chengalpet. On the west is Kolar. On the north are Kadapa and Anantapur Districts and on the south are North Arcot and Dharmapuri Districts of Tamilnadu.