Chittoor District was constituted on 1st April, 1911 with the admixture of the Culture and Traditions of three borders states of Andhra Pradesh, Tamilnadu and Karnataka. It then comprised the Taluks of Chittoor, Palamaner and Chandragiri transferred from Old North Arcot District of Tamilnadu, Madanapalle and Voyalpadu Taluks of Kadapa District and Ex-Zamindari areas of Punganur, Srikalahasthi, Puttur and Old Karvetinagar estate. Later, Kangundi Taluk of North Arcot District excluding 22 villages was transferred to Palamaner Taluk on 1st December, 1928. This taluk also gained eight villages which were the enclaves of Mysore (Karnataka) State under the Provinces and States (Absorption of enclaves) Order, 1950. The next major change in the jurisdiction of the district took place on 1st April, 1960 as a result of Pataskar Award consequent on the re-organisation of the state on linguistic basis, a major portion of Tiruthani Taluk was transferred to Chengalpattu district of Tamilnadu. Instead one Taluk known as Sathyavedu comprising 76 villages of Tiruvallur Taluk, 72 villages of Ponneri Taluk both of Chengalpattu District of Tamilnadu and 17 villages of Puttur Taluk, 19 villages of Tiruttani Taluk were added to Chittoor District. Also from the same date, the Sub-Taluks of Kuppam and Bangarupalem were constituted transferring 220 villages from Palamaner Taluk and Three villages from Krishnagiri Taluk of Salem District of Tamilnadu to form Kuppam Sub-Taluk and 145 villages from Chittoor Taluk to form Bangarupalem Sub-Taluk. Subsequently, Kuppam and Bangarupalem were made full fledged taluks. The taluks of the district were re-organised into 66 Revenue Mandals in 1985. Again the District re-organised with 31 Mandals and 4 Revenue Divisions on 4th April, 2022.  View More


  • Area: 6860 Sq. Km.
  • Population: 18,73,000
  • Language: Telugu
  • Gram Panchayats: 697
  • Male: 9,40,000
  • Female: 9,33,000


  • Complaints / Redressal

    District Handlooms & Textiles Officer, Tirupati & Chittoor Netha Bazar complex, Behind Rythu Bazar, Rayala Cheruvu road, Tirupati. Phone Number: +91 8008705726 Mail ID:


    S.No. Place of Exhibition Dates No. of Days No. of Artisans To be Organized by 1 Thematic Exhibition at Tirupati showroom premises 01-07-2024 to 05-07-2024 5             5 APHDC

  • Activities under ODOP

    Comprehensive Skill Upgradation Programme (CSUP) training will be given to 30 Artisans for 5 months programme. Design Development Workshops (DDW) will be conducted for 60 Artisans for 2 months programme. DC(H) and APHDCL planning to collaborate to issue tool kits to artisans for development of Terracotta products. M/s Poonam Kasturi, Indira Nagar, Bangalore have entered […]

  • Action Plan

    For Terracotta Artisans Lepakshi gives chances in Exhibitions for participation, even collaboration with DC(H) it enhances chances for participation domestic as well as National wide. With advanced Technology in Machinery and Tool kits provided through DC(H) Artisans will be making innovative products in Terracotta items and produce more quantity with better quality. Provide financial assistance […]

  • ODOP Suppliers Details

    Terracotta items- Palamaneru, Chittoor Distirct Total N of Artisans Practicing craft-150 members List of Supplier  / Artisan Sl. No. Name of the Supplier  /Artisan Contact Details 1 Lepakshi Handicrafts Empoirum 2 Gulab tribes 3 T.Subramanyam 99028088370, 9182756249 4 K.Venkatesh 9642337095 5 K.Jagadeesh 9705507747 6 K.Manimala 9936393993, 9014386877 7 K.Rupesh Kumar 9989452881 8 T.Munilakshmi […]

  • ODOP Nodal Officers

    Details of District Nodal Officer Name of the Department Officer Designation Contact Details Department of Handlooms & Textiles Assistant Director District Nodal Officer Contact No.:8008705729   Details of the State Nodal Officers Name of the Department Officer Designation Contact Details Department of Handlooms & Textiles Commissioner of Handlooms & Textiles State Nodal Officer Department […]

No Image
Hon'ble Minister Minister Name
Dist Collector
SHAN MOHAN SAGILI, I.A.S., Collector and District Magistrate